A Comprehensive Guide to League Champions: Exploring How Many Are There


League of Legends is one of the most popular MOBA games in the world, with millions of players from all over the globe. One of the most frequently asked questions by players is how many champions are there in the game. In this article, we will explore the total number of league champions, breaking it down by class, and discussing how this has changed over time.

A Comprehensive Guide to League Champions: How Many Are There in Total?

Currently, there are a total of 154 champions in League of Legends that are divided into different classes such as assassins, fighters, mages, marksmen, supports, and tanks. However, this number is not set in stone and is subject to change as new champions are added, and some are removed from the game.

In the early days of League of Legends, there were only a handful of champions available, but the number has been steadily increasing over time. This is due to Riot Games’ commitment to developing new and exciting characters that players can experiment with, which has led to an ever-growing roster of champions.

Knowing the total number of league champions is important for players as they can choose which champions to unlock based on their class and playstyle. By understanding how many champions are available, players can also make informed decisions about purchasing bundles or loot boxes that contain champions that they currently do not own.

Breaking Down the Numbers: Understanding the Total Number of League Champions

The class breakdown of all the champions in the game is as follows:

  • Assassins: 21 champions
  • Fighters: 39 champions
  • Mages: 36 champions
  • Marksmen: 19 champions
  • Supports: 15 champions
  • Tanks: 24 champions

League of Legends frequently updates its champion roster, adding new champions and updating existing ones. The game developers use player suggestions and feedback to guide their design choices, which can lead to some interesting and innovative champions joining the roster.

Exploring the Worlds of League Champions: A Look at the Complete Roster

Some of the most popular champions in League of Legends include:

  • Yasuo – a highly mobile swordsman who can dash around the battlefield
  • Zed – a deadly assassin with powerful burst damage
  • Ahri – a mage fox who can charm and outmaneuver her opponents
  • Jhin – a methodical marksman who is obsessed with the number four

While these champions may be popular picks, there are many lesser-known champions that players may want to experiment with. Some examples include:

  • Nidalee – a shapeshifting champion who can switch between human and cougar form
  • Kled – a yordle warrior who fights from atop his trusty steed, Skaarl
  • Taliyah – a rock-wielding mage with excellent zone control and mobility
  • Aurelion Sol – an incredibly powerful dragon-like champion that can control the battlefield with his stars

League Champions by the Numbers: How Many Have Been Crowned So Far?

Since its inception in 2009, League of Legends has undergone numerous updates and changes. In the game’s early days, there were only 40 champions available for players to choose from.

As of 2021, there are 154 champions that players can select, with more champions on the horizon as game developers are continually thinking of ways to create new and exciting champions for players to try out.

The Ultimate Guide to League Champions: Understanding the Total Quantity

Unlocking all of the champions in League of Legends can take some time, but it is achievable with some optimizations and effort. Players can earn champions through a few different methods:

  • Purchasing them through the in-game store
  • Loot boxes known as Hextech Chests that players can earn through gameplay
  • Arcane Orbs, which were added in 2021 as a way to obtain previously released, limited-time skins and champions

Players can unlock champions at a faster rate by playing in teams as they will receive rewards for winning games together. Another method is by playing through weekly missions that offer bonus experience and rewards players can use to unlock champions.

Charting the History of League Champions: How Many Have We Seen?

The first champions that were released in League of Legends are entirely different from those currently available. When the game first launched, there were only 40 champions that players could choose from, and since then, Riot Games has been continually adding new champions, updating them, and reworking abilities.

One of the most significant changes to the game’s champions occurred during the Assassin update of 2016. Some champions like Kha’Zix and Rengar were reworked to become slayer-like, while other champions like LeBlanc and Talon received unique changes to their kits.

Another notable change came in 2019, when Riot Games released a roadmap for the future of the game, stating that they would release multiple champions per year. Since then, numerous new champions have been introduced to the game, including Lillia, Samira, and Seraphine.

From Aatrox to Zyra: A Complete List of League Champions, Including the Latest Additions

Here is the complete list of all 154 champions currently in League of Legends, categorized by class:


Akali, Ekko, Evelyn, Kha’Zix, LeBlanc, Nocturne, Qiyana, Rengar, Shaco, Talon, Zed, Fizz, Katarina, Khazix, Pyke, Rengar, Riven, Zed, Kayn, Master Yi, Viego


Camille, Darius, Fiora, Garen, Sett, Jarvan IV, Jax, Riven, Urgot, Vi, Wukong, Olaf, Pantheon, Renekton, Trundle, Aatrox, Diana, Dr. Mundo, Gangplank, Nasus, Xin Zhao, Yorick, Gwen, Akshan, Sylas, Yone, Irelia, Lee Sin, Mordekaiser, Kled, Gragas, Mordekaiser, Draven


Annie, Lux, Malzahar, Ryze, Twisted Fate, Veigar, Ziggs, Ahri, Brand, Cassiopeia, Karma, Lissandra, Orianna, Syndra, Zilean, Vel’Koz, Xerath, Viktor, Taliyah, Swain, Zoe, Vladimir, Neeko, Rumble, Seraphine, Kennen, Viktor, Azir, Qiyana


Ashe, Caitlyn, Jinx, Senna, Tristana, Twitch, Vayne, Varus, Xayah, Draven, Aphelios, Jhin, Ezreal, Kaisa, Kalista, Samira, Lucian, Senna


Bard, Braum, Janna, Karma, Leona, Lulu, Nami, Rakan, Soraka, Taric, Thresh, Yuumi, Zilean, Sona


Amumu, Cho’Gath, Galio, Malphite, Maokai, Ornn, Poppy, Sejuani, Sion, Zac, Alistar, Blitzcrank, Tahm Kench, Nautilus, Dr. Mundo, Shen, Gragas, Volibear, Leona, Mordekaiser, Wukong, Zac

Some of the latest additions to the game include Gwen, a top lane champion released in April 2021, and Viego, the Ruined King, an assassin who made his debut in January 2021.


In conclusion, League of Legends currently has a total of 154 champions that players can choose from, and this number is continuously growing as Riot Games releases new champions. By understanding the total number of champions and their classes, players can make informed decisions about which champions to unlock and experiment with. With some effort and dedication, it is possible to unlock all of the champions and experience everything that League of Legends has to offer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Proudly powered by WordPress | Theme: Courier Blog by Crimson Themes.