The Complete Guide to Sons of Anarchy Seasons: How Many Are There?


Sons of Anarchy, an American crime drama television series created by Kurt Sutter, has been a fan favorite since its debut in 2008. One of the most common questions asked by fans of the show is how many seasons it has. This article will provide a comprehensive guide to Sons of Anarchy’s seasons, including synopses, episode guides, and rankings of each season.

An Overview of the Seasons of Sons of Anarchy: How Many Are There?

Sons of Anarchy has a total of seven seasons, with each season consisting of 13-14 episodes. The show premiered on September 3, 2008, and concluded on December 9, 2014. In addition to the seven seasons, there is also a spin-off series titled Mayans M.C. that premiered on September 4, 2018, and is currently ongoing.

Sons of Anarchy: A Season-by-Season Breakdown

Season 1: The show begins with the Sons of Anarchy Motorcycle Club’s Vice President, Jax Teller, questioning the direction of the Club. His father founded the club, and Jax wants to make things right after his father’s death. The season focuses on Jax’s battle to balance the club’s demands and his personal life. There are several standout episodes in this season, including “Pilot,” “Hell Followed,” and “The Revelator.”

Season 2: The season opens with the club’s gun trade with the Irish coming under threat from a new law enforcement agency. The Sons also have a new enemy in the form of Ethan Zobelle and his group of white separatists. Season 2 features some of the show’s most memorable moments, including the violent kidnapping and rape of Gemma Teller, and the death of several main characters.

Season 3: Season 3 focuses heavily on the Sons’ relationship with the Irish. Jax and the rest of the club travel to Ireland to retrieve Jax’s son and save SAMCRO from financial ruin. The season also introduces new characters such as Jimmy O’Phelan and ATF Agent June Stahl. The season finale, “NS,” is one of the show’s most shocking episodes.

Season 4: The season begins with the Sons being released from prison, but they quickly realize that things have changed while they were away. Jax is released from prison and immediately seeks revenge, leading to a full-blown war between SAMCRO and several other gangs. The season also features the introduction of a new character, Lincoln Potter.

Season 5: The season opens with Jax being released from prison and trying to get his family, the club, and his life back on track. Things quickly spiral out of control as the club’s new business ventures draw the attention of the Cartel and the Chinese Triads. Season 5 also features the death of several main characters, including Opie and Tig’s daughter.

Season 6: Season 6 features SAMCRO struggling with new enemies, including the Irish, the Cartel, and an ambitious new sheriff. Gemma also meets a new man, Nero Padilla, who complicates her life. The season finale, “A Mother’s Work,” is one of the show’s most emotional episodes.

Season 7: The final season of Sons of Anarchy finds Jax struggling to move the club into a legitimate business while also dealing with former enemies and new threats. The season also follows Jax’s emotional journey after the death of his wife and the realization that his mother was responsible.

The Complete Guide to Sons of Anarchy Seasons: How Many Are There?

Here is a complete guide to Sons of Anarchy’s seasons:

Season Episodes Premiere Date Finale Date
Season 1 13 September 3, 2008 November 26, 2008
Season 2 13 September 8, 2009 December 1, 2009
Season 3 13 September 7, 2010 November 30, 2010
Season 4 14 September 6, 2011 December 6, 2011
Season 5 13 September 11, 2012 December 4, 2012
Season 6 13 September 10, 2013 December 10, 2013
Season 7 13 September 9, 2014 December 9, 2014

Sons of Anarchy: The Evolution of the Show Across Multiple Seasons

Sons of Anarchy’s seven seasons show a clear evolution of the show’s tone, style, and focus. The show began as a gritty, violent drama centered on the outlaw motorcycle club, but it gradually shifted toward more emotional and character-driven storylines. The show’s later seasons also began to focus more on the club’s attempts to transition to a legitimate business.

How Many Seasons of Sons of Anarchy are There and Which One is the Best?

Ranking the seasons of Sons of Anarchy is a difficult task since each season has its own strengths and weaknesses. However, if we had to rank them, we would say:

  1. Season 2
  2. Season 3
  3. Season 4
  4. Season 1
  5. Season 7
  6. Season 6
  7. Season 5

Season 2 is widely regarded as the best season of the show due to its intense storyline, memorable moments, and shocking twists. However, opinions will differ, and each season has its own merits.

Sons of Anarchy Seasons: What to Expect from Each One and Which Ones to Skip

If you’re considering watching Sons of Anarchy, here is a quick guide to what you can expect from each season:

Season 1: The season sets up the show’s world and characters and is essential viewing.

Season 2: This season features some of the show’s most memorable moments and is a must-watch for any fan.

Season 3: This season focuses heavily on the club’s relationship with the Irish and is a pivotal point in the show’s story.

Season 4: The season features the club’s release from prison and is a violent, action-packed season.

Season 5: This season is a divisive one among fans but is worth watching for its shocking moments and character development.

Season 6: The season is emotionally charged and features some great acting, but some fans found it slow-paced.

Season 7: The final season is a mixed bag, but it provides a satisfying conclusion to the show’s story.

Overall, we recommend watching all seven seasons to get the full Sons of Anarchy experience. However, some sensitive viewers may want to skip some of the more violent or triggering episodes.

A Comprehensive List of the Seasons of Sons of Anarchy and the Key Moments Within Each One

Here are some of the key moments from each season of Sons of Anarchy:

Season 1:

  • The death of Donna Winston
  • Gemma’s attack
  • Tig’s daughter being kidnapped and burned

Season 2:

  • The shooting of Half-Sack and Gemma’s return to the club
  • The death of Opie’s wife, Donna
  • The death of Zobelle and Weston

Season 3:

  • The death of Abel’s adopted mother
  • The massacre at Brendan Roarke’s pub
  • Jax killing Zobelle in the season finale

Season 4:

  • Opie’s revenge on the Russians
  • The death of Clay’s wife, Piney
  • Jax turning himself in for the murder of Damon Pope’s daughter

Season 5:

  • Tig’s daughter being burned alive
  • The death of Clay’s henchman, GoGo
  • Tara’s miscarriage

Season 6:

  • Gemma killing Tara and framing the Chinese
  • Clay being murdered in prison
  • The death of Tara and the subsequent fallout

Season 7:

  • The death of Juice Ortiz
  • Gemma’s confession to Jax about Tara’s murder
  • Jax’s suicide in the series finale


Sons of Anarchy is an intense, emotional, and unforgettable show that has captivated audiences for years. With its seven seasons, it tells a compelling story that includes violence, love, family, and loyalty. We hope this guide helps you navigate through the show’s seasons and provides insight into the characters, storylines, and themes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Proudly powered by WordPress | Theme: Courier Blog by Crimson Themes.